The Thief
The Thief
Gilded, Courtly Cage • Teaser
0:00
-2:15

Gilded, Courtly Cage • Teaser

From Gisela to a Lady in Waiting

I am to be writing an accounting of some trifle for the Abbey's records to go unreviewed in some pile of sheaves for a generation.

But instead, I thought of you.

I am in the script-making part of the next season of The Thief, so there’s not much creative exhaust that makes for a neat update. Instead, how about a new teaser? Here is a letter found in Wirwen Osgard’s things.

Listen on Apple | Overcast | Spotify (or everywhere else)

Support The Thief and my other shows on Patreon.


The Letter

As long as this letter reaches you in your gilded courtly cage, then I know it'll find you well.

Humor me if you would, but you must tell me what it is like to comb hair with real silver! Much like—I suspect—it is to humor an abbot's deep unfailing lectures about the behavior proper of a young woman with money and no suitor.

Of course, I jest. I'm sure you're dancing and singing. Please, don't allow the lamentations about my own shackles spoil the grand theater of our fathers’ expectations.

Anyway, this letter shall soar to you like the birds - unfettered by station!

Well, not yet, but I persuaded my subprior to have hawks trained to Fanehrin to better establish relations with the Kingdlingers there. And what would be a missive or two of private correspondence between family?

There is a thrill in writing you a nothingness like this, just to tell you I'm thinking of you, and give you a little thrill of your own by being handed an unexpected word.

Just think of the vellum and the years bringing it to the abbey, or all the days of turning gall into ink, or the cost of the mule and its rider, and the road, and the barns.

I am to be writing an accounting of some trifle for the Abbey's records to go unreviewed in some pile of sheaves for a generation.

But instead, I thought of you.

I eagerly await your response however, delayed it may be by the vagaries of fate.

Until then, I remain as ever yours in defiance,

Gisela


Credits

Written and produced by Michael Schofield
Voices in order of appearance: Micah Schroeder is Gisela, Michael Schofield is Subprior.
Music by ⁠Tabletop Audio⁠ (see usage statements).

The Thief is produced by the Fyrd: our thegns Trei Brundrett and Andy McLellan, spear-throwers: Rebekah Monson, Andy Priestner, Mike Atchley, and Patrick Mysers.

You can join the Fyrd help me make more stories about the Aendhrin and the legacy of Caledoran at ⁠patreon.com/thethief

Listen to and subscribe anywhere: https://pod.link/1575234259.

Listen to the Thief Companion podcast for lore dumps, interviews, and behind-the-scenes.

Help make The Thief: ⁠https://patreon.com/thethief⁠

YouTube: ⁠https://www.youtube.com/@thethiefpodcast⁠

Tiktok: ⁠https://tiktok.com/@thiefpodcast⁠

0 Comments